Collard Dolmas & Cranberry Tahini

Disclaimer: Although we bake & cook our way though various recipes each week, we will not be printing the originals here. ( We will post our own renditions of ingredients and methods, used within our own kitchens.)  It is our hope to give praise to those that have set the inspiration before us.  Reconstructing their works of art (and it is, art!), allows us expression within our own kitchens.  We eat, we play, we scheme.  Please join us, and if you find something extraordinary, please drop a note to the blogger, web-author and  publisher.  Enjoy!

I’m so thankful that Santa left me this tangerine.  Lovely.  Orange.  Bright.

Our special item this week is a rendition of Lauren Ulm’s, Collard Dolma’s and Cranberry Tahini.  Lauren’s posting of this item can be found on pages 91-93, in the printed publication of, Vegan Yum Yum.

The blazing burners were running a day early on mom’s end.  A starving college student was low on fuel and needed a grocery/fridge restocking in order to survive the next round of Mother Nature’s wrath.

The beautiful cranberry, shriveled and promising.

Earlier in my week (prior to the arrival of the snow and ice) I saw to it that my wheels were spinning.  Off I went,  to clear some of the shelf space of my favorite local grocers.  I failed to remember a lemon, but after scrounging in the fridge I found half of one, along with that beautiful tangerine!  There was also a bottle of lemon reconstitute, an item I generally keep on hand for M2.  (She loves adding that to her water bottle.) I punted, and proceeded with game.

Items used on this week’s foray into vegan:

  • collard greens
  • dried cranberries
  • brown rice
  • vegan margarine
  • lemon juice
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • kosher salt
  • cracked black pepper
  • tahini
  • fresh parsley
  • minced garlic (fresh)
  • freshly diced onion
  • tangerine

Onion, garlic, salt, lemon, brown rice, vegan margarine

The snow and ice proved challenging enough, but when that nasty cold virus dropped in for a bit I thought about tossing the bed pillows over my head for a long winter’s slumber.    But then I remembered the starving teen, and the effervescent blog partner to the west.  I rebounded, found game, and headed toward the galley.

Kosher salt

This weeks item is more of an appetizer dish, than a full-scale meal.  I made it to go with a non-vegan dish (poultry, hot-wings), black beans and a southern-style spoon bread. Brownies rounded out the meal.

Sesame tahini prepping to take a colorful/flavor meld.

Sesame tahini, cranberries and lemon juice ready to ramble.

Steamed collard greens, trimmed and ready for stuffing.

After steaming my collard greens for three minutes, I drained them and brushed them with a bit of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  This prepping made way for the onion, rice, butter, garlic stuffing.

The cranberry, tangerine-infused, tahini was very refreshing.  The sweetness of the cranberry tempered the bitterness that is normally associated with a collard green.

I placed my left-over rice alongside my stuffed dolmas.  One can never have too much comfort food.  Although, one can suffer from an excess of ice and snow.

Game on!  Good luck to the Packers and the Steelers.  Oh, and:

Welcome to Texas!

…..

Tangerine!  Mom, why didn’t you let me in on this secret before I made mine?!  That sounds so yummy.

I liked the results of mine as well, but the husband did not enjoy it at all!  He’s not from the south though so I can forgive his dislike of the collard green 😉

I also made mine with purple cabbage.  He didn’t think these were “as bad”, but still wasn’t a fan.  I actually liked the taste of the cabbage more, but they were more difficult to roll and didn’t turn out as pretty.

The husband did like the rice.  He ate the remainder of it what I couldn’t fit in the leaves.

While I probably won’t make this again, because I don’t want to be the only one eating it, I would definitely recommend this to anyone that likes the taste of collard greens and/or cabbage.  Both the rice mixture and the tahini sauce were delicious and refreshing.

 

About coffeegrounded

Seriously addicted to food blogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

