Seven Spice Udon Noodles

At first glance I thought I’d find this a quick fix, but once I took to making it, I was amazed at all the side stepping required to achieve the finished product.

Noodles needed boiling, draining.  Veggies needed chopping.  Ingredients were to be measured and sorted; that took me awhile.  Perhaps I’m just suffering from winter fatigue.  My feet were dragging all throughout the process.

Would the effort be worth it?  I took one look at the contents of that noodle package prior to boiling and wondered if my family of three would walk away with growling tummies.  How could I add two scant amount of veggies and call this a meal?

I got the noodles boiled.  Did I read that recipe right?  Do I boil them for four minutes? This package tells me to do it for ten?

Okay, normally I don’t follow a literal translation.  It’s not in my game plan.  I like to live on the edge, teetering on the dive across the flatiron.

Oh heck!  I followed the rules, er…the ones printed in my lovely cookbook.  I decided that if I enjoyed this dish I could go vagabond on the next go-round.

Surprisingly, the noodles boiled up to a larger amount than I expected. The grated carrot and five brussel sprouts lent themselves ample.

Would I make this dish again?

My family loved it!  I thought it was a bit salty, although no additional salt was added.  The noodles were a wonderful texture, fully cooked after their pan frying event.

Disclaimer:  We do not print author’s recipes, but will acknowledge our source’s for inspiration.

Page 215, of Lauren Ulm’s, vegan cookbook,  Vegan Yum Yum, contains all the secrets and know-how’s of this bounty.

Enjoy!

……

Mom, I only cooked my noodles for a couple minutes too, though my package suggested 13-14 minutes.  They definitely didn’t need that much time.  I think Udon noodles are one of my new favorite things!   They were so yummy without ANYTHING on them!

I was a rebel and added a little jalapeno.  I’ve never found anything that doesn’t taste better with a little heat.  I also added some onion at the last minute because I had a little leftover in the fridge. I almost added some remaining mushrooms that were hiding in the produce compartment as well, but then the husband would have been picking them out of his dish.  I think they would have made an excellent addition though.  Maybe next time….

I am really glad we tried this recipe though so that I could be introduced to the wonderful Udon.  Mom mentioned that her pack was on the pricey side, but I found mine to be just a tad more than regular noodles.

Can’t wait to see what Mom chooses for our next Sunday meal!

About coffeegrounded

Seriously addicted to food blogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seven Spice Udon Noodles

  1. De Chap says:

    You used the wrong 7 spice powder. I did the same mistake until I read the previous page (from the recipe book). It makes a world of difference. The correct spice is called Schichimi spice.

Leave a Reply

