Tabouli aka “Tapoopi”

I grew up loving tabouli.  It’s probably an odd dish for children to like, but I was never very normal.  The first time I made tabouli by myself was in college.  It was also the first time my boyfriend (now husband) had ever tasted the dish.  He was a big fan of it, but could never remember its proper name so he called it “tapoopi”.  I’ve made it several times since then and it has always turned out great.  I suggested we make it this week because I had an Easter potluck to attend and thought it would be a good dish to take.  Unfortunately, my local Safeway was not very accommodating in quest for the perfect potluck dish.  They didn’t have any bulgar wheat!  Tragic, but I made do with some quinoa that I had hiding in a cabinet.

I was quite pleased with the results.  It wasn’t as fabulous as regular tabouli, but the texture was very similar.  It was just missing that nutty flavor I suppose.  I’m not sure, is tabouli even “nutty”?

This is the second potluck I’ve taken tabouli to.  It might be the last though because I always end up with a lot of leftovers.  I think people are hesitant to try it because it’s not something they see every day.  But maybe if we start spreading the word about this wonderful dish then more people will discover how amazing it really is!

So simple and so good for you!

…..

M1 zapped me a note at mid-week, and delivered the news to me.  Our recipe for this weeks adventure calls for bulgar wheat, but since there was a drought in the H. household, word of using a pearl barley option came forward.  Then, as women are suspected in doing, we threw caution to the wind, setting our sail toward the mighty quinoa, ancient grain, mega-dosed with all things good for the body.  And while this may not offer the deep, nutty-flavor the bulgar wheat does, it is beautiful and tasty, glorious all on its own.  I wouldn’t hesitate to punt with it again.

I never had to force-feed M1 when it came to this lovely salad.  If anything, she would ask that I make some for her, because she loved it so.

(If you were fortunate enough to try your hand at the mango pickles from last weeks rendezvous, I recommend you grab a few to fluff your dish of tabouli.  OH MY GOODNESS!)

Folks are not aware of how important this dish is to the state of Oklahoma.

Really?

you say.

Yes.

It’s downright normal to eat the stuff, whether one pulls their Conestoga into the bar ditch for the picnic, or find themselves table-side in the likes of,  Jamil’s Steakhouse.

How the heck did those Oklahoma folk decide that this was such a good eat?  Well, I’m not exactly sure, but I do know that these folks had a whole-heapin lot to do with it. http://www.bishoptaboli.com  Travel through any local grocer (Oklahoma, local), and you’ll see the little plastic bags of dried bulgar with, or without the seasonings.

Tabouli is very easy to fix.  One boils hot water, soaks the bulgar (if using quinoa, cook as you would a regular grain, white rice), drains it, and simply gets down to the business of chopping a cucumber or two, some onions, garlic, bell pepper and a few (or several) good quality tomatoes.  Dressing consists of equal parts of olive oil and fresh lemon juice (in these quarters), along with a teaspoon of salt and a hefty grind of fresh pepper.  AND, the salad actually ages quite well!  That is if you can keep your hands off of it, and tucked sweetly into a covered dish in the Miss G.E.

There is that little rumor that some folks…

just don’t get it!

… I’m sorry if you find yourself among those ranks.  I rather think you are in the minority.  You know, in that group that hates liver, can’t stand calf brains and could really give a-flying-fig about a mustard green.

Oh wait a minute.  I’m in that group on a few of those items.  Scratch that last part.

(I know this guy likes it!)

😉

Today’s recipe comes via The Food Network, an item featured from an episode of Diners, Drive-In’s and Dives.  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/diners-drive-ins-and-dives/tabouli-recipe/index.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

