Caprese is easy…

And guess who opted for ‘easy’?

This week’s choice didn’t need a lot of planning on this side of the fence.  The garden is offering a bounty of basil and those lack-luster tomato plants have forgiven me for one more week.

Here’s a peek-see at the ingredients necessary to put this plan in motion:

We are green with envy around this shack.  If one didn’t know any better they could claim that I simply posted a redux of last week’s fare, siphoned off and served up in a different vessel.

Fresh Basil Vinaigrette

But I promise, I didn’t fudge.

This weeks inspiration comes after I set my eyes on several other foodie bloggers posting about Caprese, on a stick.  Some folks opted for skewers, other’s used the stand-by, and ever ready, toothpick.  It doesn’t matter how you serve this refreshing bit of salad.  Just serve it!  You will enjoy the respite.

I guarantee.

The fabulous, Jaden Hair (www.thesteamykitchen.com), is responsible for this fantastic recipe.  I adapted it with the bounty of my garden; it’s a glorious find and one that I’ll be enjoying for as long as there is fresh basil, cherry tomatoes and fresh mozzarella.

http://steamykitchen.com/5086-caprese-salad-with-basil-vinaigrette.html

……..

This was perfect for a warm weekend meal.  It will be even better later in the summer when I can (hopefully) use tomatoes from my garden.

I want to use this basil vinaigrette on everything!  For any non vegans, I think it would be wonderful on some grilled chicken.

I will definitely be making this all summer long.  Perhaps I’ll even cheat a little next time and use fresh mozzarella instead of my non dairy mozzarella cheese.

About coffeegrounded

Seriously addicted to food blogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Caprese is easy…

  1. No, 1 Son says:

    This makes me want to eat this again!

Leave a Reply

