Hummus

I think that mom and I are both boycotting our ovens this month due to summer time temps.  Actually, mom is boycotting the oven because of the heat and I’m boycotting cooking because I have a new job that requires me to be on my feet most of the day, thus resulting in me being in a constant state of exhaustion.

I suggested hummus as the recipe of the week because it’s easy and always yummy. I don’t really follow a recipe for hummus, but mine always turns out super garlicy.  I used both fresh and roasted garlic.  And for this batch I used one can of garbanzo beans and one can of cannellini.   I think I’ll stick with this for a while because the cannellini added some extra creaminess to the hummus.

I topped off the hummus with sun dried tomatoes and fresh basil from my garden.  I probably should have mixed some basil directly into the hummus, but I made a batch of pesto the other day and the plants haven’t replenished themselves yet so my basil supply was limited.

…..

Almost vegan…..’cept for the sour cream addition, but what the heck, this is so tasty that you’ll probably quickly forgive me, or, perhaps you’ll simply opt for a non-dairy, vegan option when it comes to that particular item. (Yeah. That’s it!)  😉

M1, shouted the heads-up for this weeks recipe idea:

“Hummus!”

There is no way to fail, in this household, when it comes to serving up anything that involves that trusty little gem, the garbanzo bean. They are simply, glorious!

Garlic Hummus with Tahini

  • 3 1/2 cups of garbanzo beans + about one cup of broth
  • 2/3 cup tahini (sesame paste)
  • 8 large gloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 lemons, freshly squeezed
  • 1 large lime, freshly squeezed
  • 2 teaspoons of ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 3/8 cup sour cream
  • 2 Tablespoons virgin olive oil

Prepare dried garbanzo beans by soaking overnight.  Drain and cook as you would any bean, seasoning to your own liking.  Once tender, remove from heat and allow to cool before proceeding.   Be sure to keep a bit of the broth, about one cup.

In a large food processor, or blender, process cooked garbanzo’s into a paste, using a bit of the reserved liquid.  Consistency should be more paste like, than fluid.

Once the beans have been processed, add other ingredients and continue to blend, fully.  (I processed mine until they had that ‘mashed potato’ look about them, being sure to  incorporate and purée all my ingredients.)

This recipe rewards you with a rather large amount of dip.  I’ve taken to freezing half of mine for use at a later date.  I’m not sure how well it will survive the deep-freeze, but with the Texas heat burning a hole through my britches, I probably won’t give a darn. Anything that’s frosty will surely be welcomed.  Now all I have to do is think before I eat…..you know, like, remember to thaw it a day ahead in the topside of Miss G.E.

P.S.  This is known to keep vampires away.  And dragons are known to eat this before flame throwing action.

😉

…..


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

